Jury Is Still Out

this works

In the end, it came down to a simple choice. Whether to create something of my own or just sit back and think about creating something of my own. Everyone has had conversations with their friends and stated, “We could write a movie.” This blog is my “movie” and one I believe wholeheartedly will work in the long run. Do you want to know how I know? I’ve failed miserably at this in the past, read a retired sneaker blog Heat on Feet to see for yourself. In my first blog I limited myself to one topic and tried to no avail to tie that topic with my other interests. After the first 8 posts, I knew it wasn’t going to work. The blog sputtered admirably into a 32-entry existence and was put out of its misery a few days ago. Out of those ashes Rio’s Reads was born, like a phoenix immediately confused to where it resurrected. beginsyes

Where my past blog had a specific topic, this one has no such focus. This blog is influenced by every discussion I’ve had with a friend about television, movies, sports, music and sometimes even serious topics. I confess I watch too much T.V, movies, sports, attend too many concerts and participate in too many serious discussions. None of that makes me qualified to discuss these topics but does that matter? You’re probably thinking “who does this guy think he is?” The answer is, I am you. Ponder on that thought for a moment and let it sink in. Now toss that aside because it’s nonsense, I don’t even know you like that. This blog is a celebration of our differences and cornball statements aside, I believe people will discover its potential.

Whiplash-ScreamKurt Russell

The only certainty in this blog is that its content will be broad, varied, specific, preposterous, and by God it might just work. I’m 23, a college graduate, debt- ridden, working two jobs and yet still have irrational confidence. Not in the “I’ll take a jump shot with two defenders in my face” confidence but in the “if coach put me in, I’d make that shot” confidence. There’s a reason I’m on the bench, but that doesn’t mean I can’t make big baskets. For now it’s about putting in the work and Rio’s Reads is where I’ll push myself. This blog is a long shot on day 1 but sometimes it’s the only shot we have. Put me in coach, the game needs me.

Leave a Reply

